acousmatic strings

A performance of a string quartet without musicians – the instruments play by themselves, responding to synthesized vibrations transmitted to the instruments through exciter speakers.

Periodic oscillations, impulses and am-modulated sounds form the musical basis of the concert, which evolves from drone-like soundscapes to fragments of Bach’s Well Tempered Piano; underlined and enhanced by akirasrebith’s projection mapping.

This project premiered at Transart 2015.

Michele Cagol, Hannes Pasqualini: modular synth & csound
Roland Lioni: video mapping
Michele Cagol: composition

Acousmatic Strings, Excerpt (5 min.)

Acousmatic Strings Full Performance (Transart 15)